Onassis porsche 22

think it – build it – the onassis porsche 115368

Anyone who takes on the restoration of a classic car, must definitely bring patience. The way was a bit longer than planned, but in the end everything should be fine and the Onassis Porsche 115368 was ready in time for the winter season.

Onassis porsche 1

Growing up between skateboard and surfboard in the heart of the Ruhr area, Tom has clearly found his roots in the more alternative and relaxed corner of life. Early on, he found his enthusiasm for old air-cooled vehicles, initially for his Volkswagen Beetle, and later for this Porsche 356, which decorates the side here.

Onassis porsche 3Onassis porsche 4

But the plan in 2008 was quite different, Tom was with his father on the way to buy a 52 bend screen 356, but the seller withdrew his offer shortly before the sale. Disappointed it went on the way home and the two went in search of the plan B. After a few days came a hot tip from a good buddy and so they found the 1961 Porsche 356B T5 as a broken restoration more or less in his neighborhood. They knew they had to strike because the space in the newly built garage was empty and the project was already taking shape in the head.

onassis porsche 4

The substance of the Porsche was in an extremely good condition, because the entire body work was already done expertly and the car was freshly painted in it’s original color fjord green. The tech of the car was also revised for the most part and so could start after an inventory also directly with the assembly of the axles and the gearbox.

Onassis porsche 6

Onassis porsche 12

The exact plan was not very clear in the beginning, but Tom has long been a big fan of show cars ​​for the street based on the Californian style. Thus, it was clear that it would take a little longer, because the Porsche should get one or the other rare part donated. As time went by, this idea became more solid and Tom began to construct and produce parts of his own, which he did not get as he imagined. That was pretty much the time to found his brand Onassis Porsches.

Onassis porsche 5

So the car was worked on in parallel, now and again taken measure for new prototypes and at the same time the restoration was driven forward. This resulted in parts such as the Onassis Shifter, Onassis intake funnel or the prototype Onassis stopwatch.

Onassis porsche 7

Onassis porsche 10

But the performance was not too short, the 4 cylinder boxer engine kept exactly the volume, but received a performance cure in the house Classic Boxers. The engine got JE forged pistons, the cylinder heads were also modified it, the camshaft got more stroke and the compression was also increased and thus Tom rolls quickly in traffic.

Onassis porsche 8

The entire car thrives on the many lovingly executed details, whether it is the perfectly styled interior with contemporary items such as Speedster bucket seats, VDM steering wheel with self-developed quick release hub and the roll bar. Even the trunk is picobello cleaned up and equipped with a prepared carpet set. Even the engine compartment with lined leather paneling is to the point and just right. But a highlight are certainly his extremely rare magnesium rims from the 60s, which are still not known anywhere.

Onassis Porsche 9

Onassis porsche 11

But the man behind Onassis is a very creative mind and has therefore already one or the other idea in the bag concerning modifications to the car, because somehow the project is never really finished, we all know that …

Onassis porsche 13

Onassis Porsches Agency – official website

Photos and story – Daniel Schaefer

More cars you’ll find here!

Onassis porsche 22

think it – build it – the onassis porsche 115368

Wer sich der der Restaurierung eines Oldtimers annimmt, muss definitiv Geduld mitbringen. Der Weg war ein Stück weit länger als geplant, jedoch sollte zum Schluss doch alles gut werden und der Onassis Porsches 115368 war pünktlich zum Winter fertig.

Onassis porsche 1

Tom wuchs zwischen dem Skateboard und dem Surfbrett im Herzen des Ruhrgebietes auf und hat somit ganz klar seine Wurzeln in der alternativeren und entspannteren Ecke des Lebens gefunden. Früh fand er seine Begeisterung für alte luftgekühlte Fahrzeuge, anfangs noch für seinen Volkswagen Käfer und später dann für diesen Porsche 356 der die Seite hier ziert.

Onassis porsche 3Onassis porsche 4

Doch war der Plan im Jahre 2008 ein ganz anderer, Tom war mit seinem Vater auf dem Weg sich eine 52er Knickscheibe zu kaufen, doch zog der Verkäufer kurz vor dem Verkauf sein Angebot zurück.  Enttäuscht ging es auf den Heimweg und die beiden machten sich auf die Suche nach dem Plan B. Nach ein paar Tagen kam ein heißer Tipp von einem guten Kumpel und so fand er seinen 1961er Porsche 356B T5 als abgebrochene Restauration mehr oder weniger in seiner Nachbarschaft. Ihnen war klar, dass sie zuschlagen mussten, denn der Platz in der extra errichteten neuen Garage war leer und das Projekt nahm im Kopf bereits erste Formen an.

onassis porsche 4

Der Substanz des Porsche befand sich in einem äußerst guten Zustand, denn die gesamten Karosseriearbeiten wurden bereits fachmännisch erledigt und der Wagen stand frisch lackiert in seiner Auslieferungsfarbe Fjordgrün da. Die Technik des Wagens wurde  ebenfalls zum größten Teil überarbeitet und so konnte nach einer Bestandsaufnahme auch direkt mit der Montage  der Achsen und des Getriebes begonnen werden.

Onassis porsche 6

Onassis porsche 12

Der genaue Marschplan war Anfangs noch nicht ganz klar, doch war Tom schon lange ein großer Fan von Showcars für die Strasse nach kalifornischen Vorbild. Somit war ihm klar das es doch etwas länger dauern würde, denn der Porsche sollte das eine oder andere seltene Teil spendiert bekommen. So festigte sich im Laufe der Zeit dieser Gedanke und Tom fing parallel an einige Teile selbst zu konstruieren und zu fertigen, welche er so nicht bekam wie er sich das vorstellte. Das war auch ziemlich genau der Zeitpunkt zur Gründung seiner Marke Onassis Porsches.

Onassis porsche 5

Also wurde parallel am Wagen weitergearbeitet, hin und wieder Maß genommen für neue Prototypen und Zeitgleich die Restaurierung vorangetrieben. So entstanden in diesem Prozess Teile wie der Onassis Shifter, Onassis Ansaugtrichter oder der Prototyp der Onassis Stoppuhr.

Onassis porsche 7

Onassis porsche 10

Doch kam die Performance nicht zu kurz, der 4 Zylinder Boxermotor behielt zwar genau das Volumen, aber erhielt eine Leistungskur im Hause Classic Boxers. Die Maschine erhielt JE Schmiedekolben, die Zylinderköpfe wurden darauf abgestimmt, die Nockenwelle bekam mehr Hub und die Verdichtung wurde ebenfalls erhöht und somit rollt Tom zügig im Verkehr mit.

Onassis porsche 8

Das gesamte Auto lebt von den vielen liebevoll durchgeführten Details, egal ob es der perfekt durchgestylte Innenraum mit zeitgemäßen Einzelteilen wie Speedster Schalensitze, VDM Lenkrad mit eigenentwickelter Schnellverschlussnabe und dem Rollbügel ist. Selbst der Kofferraum ist picobello  aufgeräumt und mit einem  angefertigten Teppichsatz bestückt. Auch der Motorraum mit ausgekleideter Lederverkleidung ist auf den Punkt und einfach stimmig. Aber ein highlight sind mit Sicherheit seine extrem seltenen Magnesium Felgen aus den 60er Jahren, welche so nicht noch irgendwo bekannt sind.

Onassis Porsche 9

Onassis porsche 11

Doch ist der Mann hinter Onassis ein sehr kreatives Köpfchen und hat daher auch schon die eine oder andere Idee im Petto was umbauten am Wagen betrifft, denn irgendwie ist das Projekt ja nie wirklich fertig, das kennen wir doch alle…

Onassis porsche 13

Onassis Porsches Agency – official websiteinstagramfacebook

Fotos und Text – Daniel Schaefer

Mehr Autos findet Ihr hier!